Naira crisis: Three northern APC states sue Buhari, CBN

Alade Abayomi ADeleke
Alade Abayomi ADeleke

Three All Progressive Congress governed states, Kaduna, Kogi and Zamfara State Governments have sued the President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari’s (Ret’d.) government to court, over the new naira policy introduced by the Central Bank of Nigeria.


Naija News reported that according to the motioned filed, owing to the current hardship suffered by their state citizens following the CBN’s naira redesign policy and the imminent old naira swap deadline, the three APC state governments reportedly dragged the Federal government before the Supreme Court on Monday, seeking a restraining order to stop the full implementation of the policy.


The motion ex-parte was filed by their lawyer, Abdul Hakeem Uthman Mustapha (SAN), the three northern states are urging the apex court to grant them an interim injunction stopping the Federal Government either by itself or acting through the CBN, the commercial banks or its agents from carrying out its plan of ending the timeframe within which the now older versions of the 200, 500 and 1000 denominations of the Naira may no longer be legal tender on February 10, 2023.


More details later…

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *